Frequently Asked Questions

  • How do I get in touch with the admin team?

Our current admin team is as follows:

Amber Vongsamphanh, MA, Director of Operations, STAR CRN; amber.vongsamphanh@vumc.org

Edwina McNeill-Simaan, MSHS, Associate Director of Operations/ Senior Project Manager, STAR CRN; edwina.o.mcneill-simaan@vumc.org

Joy Shackelford, MS, STAR Network Navigator/Project Manager, STAR CRN; joy.m.shackelford@vumc.org

Kathy Ogbu, MPA, Health Services and Policy Analyst II, STAR CRN; kathy.n.ogbu@vumc.org

Hillary Duckham, IT Project Manager, STAR CRN Data Team Member; hillary.e.duckham@vumc.org

Laura Jones, Senior IT Project Manager, STAR CRN Data Team Member; laura.m.jones@vumc.org

Alanna DiVietro, MPH, Associate IT Project Manager, STAR CRN; alanna.divietro@vumc.org

Alecia Fair, PhD, DPh, Lead Research Assistant Professor, Stakeholder Engagement, STAR CRN; alecia.fair@Meharry-Vanderbilt.org

Jabari Ichimura, BS, Project Manager, Stakeholder Engagement, STAR CRN; jabari.s.ichimura@vumc.org

  • What is your current clinical reach?
  • How does the most recent data characterization break down by site?

  • Where can I learn more about details of the Common Data Model (CDM)?
  • Details of the PCORnet Common Data Model are available here.

    • How should I cite the STAR CRN in publications and presentations?

    For the time period before 6.30.2019: “The STAR CRN, formerly Mid-South CDRN was initiated and funded by Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute (PCORI) through the contract CDRN-1306-04869 , the Vanderbilt Institute for Clinical and Translational Research with grant support from (UL1TR002243 from NCATS/NIH), and institutional funding.”

    For the time period 12.1.2018-12.31.2019: “The STAR CRN was initiated and funded by People-Centered Research Foundation (PCRF) through the contract PCRF RFA 2017-12-05, the Vanderbilt Institute for Clinical and Translational Research with grant support from (UL1TR002243 from NCATS/NIH), and institutional funding.”

    For the time period 1.1.20 and going forward: “The STAR CRN was initiated and funded by Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute (PCORI) through the contract RI-CRN-2020-009, the Vanderbilt Institute for Clinical and Translational Research with grant support from (UL1TR002243 from NCATS/NIH), and institutional funding.”

    • Where can I find more general information on PCORnet as a whole?
    • Where can I find more information about the STAR CRN?
    • What if I don’t understand the terminology being used here?